God’s Fingerprints

20151218_134839

The other day while sitting in the van with the windows down and a cool breeze blowing across me I couldn’t help but stop and worship. As I sat there, I began to ponder about how every time I feel a breeze I can’t help but think of God. Maybe it is because, just like God, I can’t see it but I can feel it … see its effects … know it’s there. It can be gentle, but it can also be powerful. It can be oh, so, refreshing. Every time I feel a breeze I can’t help but lift my face up, embrace it, enjoy it, and thank God. I love the way it feels, the way it makes the nature around me “sing.” It brings storms and also refreshes. I love the fact that the wind obeys my God. “…even the winds and the sea obey him…Matthew 8:27

Cellphone Picutres June 23 2016 1332

As I continued to sit with the breeze rustling my hair and I started thinking about how the wind is not the only “God fingerprint” for me. Every time I’m out in my garden I think of him. When you hoe and weed, you can’t help but think of the many parables Christ taught about seeds. Nothing shows you just how much you rely on God and his provision as putting seeds in the ground, watering them, and knowing that there is nothing else you can do but wait for God to make them grow. You are at the mercy of the weather and pray for a bountiful crop. You can’t make it rain. You can’t keep the hail away. Whereas when gardening you are utterly dependent on God, it also reminds you of how dependent on Him you are in the rest of your life as well.

all kids creek 150

Other fingerprints for me are my children. Just like seeds, I couldn’t make something from nothing… but God did.  To quote one of my favorite songs, “That’s what Amazes Me” by Go Fish,

“Little fingers curled ’round mine
A perfect heart beats right in time
Brand new eyes look all around
As tiny ears hear every sound
And like the artist creates his masterpiece from nothing
So this child came to be
From the love of two came a whole new entity
And that’s what amazes me.”

Having our first child was not an overnight experience for us. No matter how badly you want a baby, you can’t create one without God allowing it to happen.

However, I’m not just talking about the miracle of conception, but the whole birth process. I once watched a movie on how each little thing must happen at exactly the right time in the womb, and when it doesn’t that is when birth defects occur. Which happened with our second born. There is one special moment in the womb when the diaphragm is formed. If it does not occur then all the lower body parts are not kept out of the chest cavity allowing the lungs to form fully. I learned how precious a fully formed, healthy baby is and how miraculous they are. Before I had her, I took it for granted and just expected it. After our miscarriage, I learned even more just how precious the miracle of life is; I cannot look at my children and not see God.

Trip out West 2 308

Lastly, for me, is the mountains. They have always done something to my soul. They calm me, they speak to me and remind me that God is awesome. They speak the truth to me that God is bigger than all my problems. I have lived many places, but my heart always has remained in the mountains no matter where I lived. Every time I am near them, it feels like God made them like a hug just for me.

I believe there are things that remind everyone of God. Not the same thing, mind you, but something very personal that every time you experience it, you can’t help but worship and know there is a God. I know for some of you the ocean is your “fingerprint,” and maybe for some of you, it is animals. I’m sure for the scientist tiny cells in all their micro-glory testify that there is a creator who loves details. I know for my husband it would be music. I love watching Him experience music. Again, to quote “That’s What Amazes Me”:

A musical blanket
Woven together with a melody and rhyme
The songs we live our lives to
Take us to another place and time
And like the snowflakes that fall from heaven
Each one different crafted carefully
From only eighty-eight keys come endless possibilities
And that’s what amazes me

(Want to hear the song?: click here)
Everything created points us back to God. The Bible says,

“For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:” Romans 1:20

There is no excuse for failing to recognize God. Granted, different things speak to each of us; He is just waiting for us to stand in awe of His creation and notice how miraculous it is. Yes, I know the devil has twisted many wonderful things in creation to his use, but I know it didn’t start that way. I can only imagine how it must delight God when we take the time to appreciate Him and His creation. Any artist’s goal is for the audience to appreciate his masterpiece.

How about you? What are the things that “sing” there is a God to you?

This is my Father’s world,
And to my list’ning ears
All nature sings, and round me rings
The music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world:
I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas—
His hand the wonders wrought.

This is my Father’s world:
The birds their carols raise,
The morning light, the lily white,
Declare their Maker’s praise.
This is my Father’s world:
He shines in all that’s fair;
In the rustling grass I hear Him pass,
He speaks to me everywhere.

This is my Father’s world:
Oh, let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world,
The battle is not done:
Jesus who died shall be satisfied,
And earth and Heav’n be one.

Maltbie Davenport Babcock

Leave a Reply

