Love Sacrifices Time

20170116_170230.jpg

“Mommy I go for a walk with you?”

I’m very territorial over my daily walk since it is my time to have quiet and recharge. I started doing it for exercise since I wanted to fit back into my pre-pregnancy clothes. Even though it may have started for exercise, but it ended up being a sanctuary of peace … just me and God and quiet.

This day in particular though, my four-year-old looking at me with pleading blue eyes and begging to join me on my walk and I knew he probably needed some mommy time. The selfish side of me wanted to say no, but instead, I put aside my desires and said yes.

I looked at his little hands in mine and his big smile melted this mommy’s heart. Even if we did have to stop and pick up a “pokey” …and stop again to get a rock out of our shoe… and even if my walk was cut short. It may have been and more leisurely and less exercise, but was glad I sacrificed my “personal time” and said yes.

It is easy to forget that one day his hand will be bigger than mine and he will be holding another girl’s hand other than mine. Even though he was in trouble all the day before, that day I just wanted to squeeze him and tell him to stop growing up so fast.

Many times when doing menial tasks for my kids I wish I was doing something else instead. For instance, tasks like…wiping a butt for the 700th time… working a math problem out with a child who is in tears … or moping. However, sacrificing “my personal time” is what God has called me to do: Being a mom and teaching my children he has seen fit to bless me with.

Hear me out. I’m not saying we shouldn’t take care of ourselves and allow time to recharge. Most days I walk alone, telling my kids that I need some time to myself so I will remain a “happy” mommy. Also, there are days that I sleep in so that my attitude will be what it should …  However, it is important that we strive for a balance in our lives.

Jesus was never hurried, in fact, He made sure to take the time to help others with their problems. Jesus knew the importance of recharging and alone time, and regularly spent time alone early in the morning. However, when people found Him and asked something of Him He didn’t snap at them and say things such as: “Leave me alone! Are you all trying to go for a record of how many people I can heal in a day”? Also, Jesus never said, “You want to be fed too?” or, “I have a job to do, and I don’t have the time to help you right now.”

In fact, he tried in several bible passages to go off by himself and people still followed him. (To be honest, I wonder if he was trying to use the restroom since this is always when I have a following.)

He sacrificed His time… He sacrificed His sleep… He knew His Father’s purpose and He fulfilled it.

His purpose was: “And he said unto them, How is it that ye sought me? wist ye not that I must be about my Father’s business?” Luke 2:49

Isn’t that what we are called to do? Should we not open our hands to God and say, “Here are my 24 hours how do YOU want me to use it?”

This is super hard for me.

I am a type A person. Planning is one of my favorite things to do. I use a little notebook to plan out my days and everyone close to me knows it. It greatly upsets me if my day does not go according to my plan. It shouldn’t be my plan though… It should be HIS!

Also, sometimes I fill up my plate so full that I fail to recognize the opportunities to serve others that God places before me, or I think I just don’t have the time to do it. Like

  • Feeling like I should take a meal to a friend who is having a hard time … but don’t because I don’t have “time” in my schedule.
  • Knowing I should spend time with God each morning…. But I choose to sleep in and my hour for getting stuff like that done goes out the window.
  • Not writing a note to someone God has laid on my heart … because I don’t feel like giving up watching my favorite TV
  • Saying no to coloring with my kids … and chose to scroll facebook instead.

I’ve learned the hard way to pray before I say yes and make sure it is the best “Yes” for our family so my plate is not too full to serve my family. There are so many good things to say yes to, but what is best for me may not be the best for you.

It is important to remember that we can only manage our time so well on our own, but when we turn our time over to God He is able to do things with it that we never could. Sometimes it is hard to remember that He has my best interest at heart and will help me have the strength to serve others. However, in my quest to be more Christ-like I will attempt to say yes to opportunities for service He provides, and not become upset when my plans go off course.

How about you? Do you find it easy to let go of your plans?

20170116_170319.jpg

Leave a Reply

